Star Trek: Captain Kirk – New Vs. Old

capt Kirk and spockI have a Star Trek comparison.  Captain Kirk. New vs Old.

 I’d like to express the differences that I’ve noticed between the two Captain Kirks – from a writers perspective.

First off, let me say  I truly liked both Captain Kirks.  In my opinion, both Kirks did an exceptional job.  They were both terrific in their roles.

Having given the proper credit up front, as a writer of  children’s  books, when I create a protagonists, it’s important to me that the protagonist is  forced to deal with their own inner-personal issues.  They must be flawed.

For me, protagonists not only solve the impossible case, against all possible odds, with the antagonists fighting against them, they do so with  inner-personal conflicts that fight against them as well.

To put it simply, the first Captain Kirk was too strong for me.  From this children books writer’s perspective, he was lacking flaws.

capt Kirk and spock

I preferred the later.  He was more flawed.  In this case, for me more flawed is better. Just my opinion.

Having said that. I’m a huge Star Trek fan.  I’ve seen every Star Trek movie ever made more times than I can count. You know what I mean.

I grew up with Star Trek as many of us did.

I will confess, Mr. Spock has always been one of my favorite characters.  My other favorite  is Dr. McCoy. I’ve always enjoyed the conflicts between them.  In my opinion, both actors were incredible.

I hope you’ve enjoyed this comparison.  Agree or disagree, let me know what you think.  I’d love to hear your opinion.

“May good fortune guide your path”

J. A. Ireland

Leave a Reply

